Journey back to joy

Hey friendals! I’ve been wanting to post about so much lately, the Lord has been teaching me a ton and also just a ton has been happening in my life. As you may know, I recently moved to Raleigh to be a part of Soul Church which launched YESTERDAY. It was absolutely incredible to see the vision God has given Ps. B and Jill come to life and to see the hearts of so many united for God’s glory. I am so grateful to be a part of such an amazing team who serves their hearts out and who are so very generous with their time, love and talents.

SO, I want to talk about j o y. Joy is something I have struggled with a lot, mainly because I was looking for it in all the wrong places- friends, boyfriends, teams, etc. I think just about everyone can relate to looking for joy in someone or something other than God. It’s so easy to forget who the true source of joy is. When I started attending Lifepoint church in August 2013 & starting following Jesus, joy came so easily and freely to me. I was immersed in the joy of my salvation and nothing could take that joy away from me….but then, life happens. And you start to forget what it felt like to receive Gods gift of salvation through Jesus. It becomes old news and day-to-day stress, hurt and pressures begin to take away your joy.
The bible says that “The thief comes only to steal, kill and destroy. I [Jesus] came that they may have life and have it abundantly.”

aka JOY. I believe God wants us to have joy. And although a lot of things haven’t looked how I thought they would look since moving to Raleigh- I can still live in joy every day. In the Bible, John 15 talks about keeping God’s commandments and abiding in Jesus’ love so that His joy would be in us so that, our joy would be full. WOW. I’m so happy and thankful to know that my joy isn’t dependent on my circumstances, surroundings, or MY FEELINGS. Cause dang y’all, them things be all over the place for real.

Not gonna lie- When I moved here I let the enemy steal my joy. I bought into the lie that if everything around me wasn’t going the way I had planned it in my head than I would just be sad and depressed and look for new ways to fix it or change my situation. The truth is though, no matter what I try to fix or how much better my situation gets- if my joy isn’t coming for the Lord than is it truly anything but a temporary happiness from the world disguised as joy?? I’m so thankful that the Lord is constant in pursuit of us even when we don’t take the time to realize it. A month or so ago I started praying for joy and Jesus is so faithful, I have stumbled across so many verses in the Bible about joy (I’ll share them below). My hope is that anyone who is reading this, that may be struggling with finding joy in their everyday lives would be encouraged that all you have to do is ask. God gives to those who seek. He opens the door for those who knock. Keep seeking God, keep knocking on the door of His heart and He will provide you with so much joy regardless of what life throws at you. Here’s what I know, if He can do it for me, He can do it for YOU.

“Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and uphold me with a willing spirit.” Psalm 51:12

“Count it all joy my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know the testing of your faith produces steadfastness.” James 1:2-3

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope.” Romans 15:13

“You make known to me the path of life, in your presence there is fullness of JOY; at your right hand are pleasures forevermore.” Psalm 16:11

LOVE YOU SO MUCH, YOU’RE NOT ALONE, I’M ROOTING FOR YOU. And better yet, God loves you, is with you and will carry you on. You got this girrrrrrl (or guy)!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

