pushing forward |

The start of this year has been so amazing! I’ve barely had time to process all that God has been doing in my heart. from learning and growing so much at Lifepoint Leadership College, participating in a poverty simulation and going back to Nicaragua to turning 22, God is up to big things this year. One thing that I can say for sure that God has been placing in front of me is humility- a trait that Jesus was full to the brim of. We see that trait all throughout His ministry here on earth. Jesus came not to be served but to serve and when I really sit down and think about this fact it makes me look at my own life and wonder if I truly seek to serve rather than seeking to be served. Like I said God has been working overtime in me during this season showing me what it really means to lead in a way that pushes others in front of me, making me last and providing opportunities for me to serve others. Being humbled by God is such a joyful experience, as weird as that sounds.
In Luke 14:11 Jesus says, For everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, and he who humbles himself will be exalted. this is a hard concept you guys!! Our sin nature is prideful and craves praise, not wanting anything to do with humility or servanthood. As a Christ follower we must constantly strive for humility and work towards the traits of Jesus daily. While in Nicaragua I felt what God has been teaching me begin to play out in watching others relationship with God grow. Seeing others come into a deeper and more meaningful relationship with Christ is such a joy and nothing makes a follower of Jesus feel more exalted than being a part of Gods greater story.
God is continuing to humble my spirit even after being back in the states. I’ve been feeling so challenged with fundraising to go back to Nicaragua this summer to be a servant leader but I know and believe that God is bigger than my fears. For me, it takes constant humility to accept the fact that I cant work for all the money on my own and that God wants to bless others as they bless me and become a part of my journey. I’ve said probably a thousand times this new year, never underestimate the power of prayer and this is so true!! God honors faithfulness and I will always strive to remain faithful to His plan for my life.
2 Chronicles 7:14 If my people who are called by my name humble themselves, and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then i will hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and heal their land.
We prayed this at the beginning of this year while fasting and I am still praying and believing in this promise of God!

Leave a Reply

