when you’re discouraged.. 🌼

Then he went on alone into the wilderness, traveling all day. He sat down under a solitary broom tree and prayed that he might die. “I have had enough, lord,” he said. “Take my life, for I am no better than my ancestors who have already died.” (1 Kings 19:4 NLT)
Even Elijah who was a great man of God experienced discouragement. When you start to feel discouraged it doesn’t mean that you are uncommitted to God. sometimes when you are physically or spiritually exhausted you can feel more discouraged than ever. But the devil often uses discouraging times to pull you away from God and onto a different path. He will cause you to doubt your salvation, question gods goodness, and stray from gods will for your life. Don’t make life changing decisions during times of discouragement! These times are not the times to decide God wants you to be somewhere else, doing something else.
God responded to Elijah’s request to die, Then the angel of the lord came again and touched him and said, “Get up and eat some more, or the journey ahead will be too much for you.” (1 Kings 19:7 NLT). God gave Elijah sustenance and rest, and encouraged him to keep going. sometimes the hardest thing to do is just keep going but our God is an encouraging and uplifting God. He will help you to keep going when you don’t even want to move, just ask for Him.
* I pray that when I’m feeling discouraged that I wouldn’t let the devil pull me away from God. That I would take time for spiritual sustenance and rest and spend time in Gods word. That I would always let him sustain me and strengthen me for my journey.

Leave a Reply

